Caer Caradoc After Breakfast

Image

View North showing The Lawley and Wrekin in distance

Decided I needed to start my 2013 fitness campaign today after one too many snifters last night. I woke up feeling guilty and as the missus was doing university work I decided to head off down the A49.

I parked just before Church Stretton in a layby and headed up onto Caer Caradoc for a morning decoking of the lungs (remember when you had to do that with petrol engines?)

Image

A49 in Valley and The Lawley looking North

The aim was to also try out a new daysack that I bought on Ebay last week. Another impulse purchase but it is only a daysack and seems to be the now discontinued Golite Breeze. Its very basic but I may see if I can add a chest strap and hip belt.

Image

Quite a tough pull up from the ridge onto the summit but well worth it for the views all round.

I am still getting used to these walking poles and I find them better when descending. I will persevere just so I can try the DD tarp out when I get chance.

Image

Church Stretton & The Long Mynd from summit

Met a ramblers group when descending and they had leaders at front and back with little yellow hi-viz bibs on??? Whats that all about….H&S gone mad I guess…not my scene.

Leave a Reply

